Shopping has developed from a necessary activity to a kind of entertainment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that shopping has become an entertainment rather than a necessity. I agree with that statement due to a huge waste of money in that area from Western societies. Many people waste a lot of money from buying things that they do not need to. This is because they want to impress others by showing their status. Many individuals think that buying something expensive, such as a new phone or clothes from a luxury brand shows other people how rich they are. This development leads people to buy new stuff with a larger perspective and with a higher desire. For instance, the research provided by the National American University claims that one-third of residents’ expenditures are devoted to shopping. Furthermore, in a capitalist world, society has a symptom of overconsumption. In a world where people are encouraged to spend their money buying new things, no one considers shopping as a necessary part of life. Nowadays, due to TV and social media trends, the population wants to rechange their clothes even if they are in good shape and still can be used. This is because citizens want to be on the same track as modern society and follow new fashion trends, and whenever the old one ends, people run to buy new stuff. For example, each year when the Apple company releases a new iPhone, hundreds of individuals are going to purchase this product and replace the old one. In conclusion, in the era of proving status and overconsumption, an increasing number of residents consider shopping a crucial part of their lives only for depicting their wealth or catching up with trends.