Some argue that music mainly serves as a way for individuals to reduce their stress and anxiety. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the ultimate purpose of music is to improve their mental well-being. While I agree with this statement, I believe that the benefits of music are multifaceted. This essay will present my viewpoint along with pertinent data. On the one hand, I believe that music helps people to lower their stress and anxiety. This is to say that music is one of the popular leisure activities among many of us and we would like to unwind from the stresses of everyday lives by listening to our favourite music as it is considered to be the ultimate way to relaxation. In addition, while listening to music it calms your mind and body which in turn lowers your nervousness. For instance, these days many healthcare centres are using music as their vital therapy sessions in order to improve their patient's overall health. On the other hand, I believe that it plays a vital role in learning and development. In other words, learning music develops the ability to grasp new languages and improve communication skills. Furthermore, it has been proved that it helps people improve their pattern recognition skills and teaches kids discipline. For example, the government in Western countries are focusing on inculcating mandatory music classes for children considering its significance. To conclude, although music serves as a way to reduce stress and anxiety, it has ample benefits in terms of the cognitive and intellectual development of people. We should not limit the purpose confining to health and everyone must enjoy the enormous benefits of music.