In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, it is increasingly prevalent for rural people to seek a job in the city, which causes a decline in the countryside population. In my view, I think this is a positive development because this phenomenon can bring many merits. On the one hand, I cannot deny that rural population loss may cause many problems. Firstly, a predominant issue is the shortage of labour in the rural areas. This is mainly because most young people leave their hometowns and acquire a job in the metropolis city where they can meet more job opportunities. Secondly, it is common for countryside individuals to work alone in a city, so there are many rural children who find it difficult to accompany their parents throughout the year. This may influence the psychological health of these kids. However, reaching the above conclusion does not necessarily mean that the advantages of urbanization can be ignored. For one thing, urbanization is an effective method to improve productivity and economic efficiency, which means a country can utilize less revenue to manufacture more products. For another thing, people working in the downtown can also improve the environment in the countryside, which will attract more citizens to travel there and bring prosperity to there. Take China, for example, with the environmental improvement in rural areas, more city residentiaries choose to go there to have a meal or get accommodation at weekends, which assists with villages' development and allures many postgraduates to come back to their hometowns. To summarize, although rural people moving to cities may cause some problems, I still believe this phenomenon is a positive development considering its economic and environmental benefits.