Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this present day, smartphones are one of the most essential stuffs in daily life. The users of smartphones vary from youngsters to older generation, however, there Is also a group of smartphone holders coming from ages 5 to 12. I strongly believe it is a negative thing to let children have their smartphones with them for more than 10 hours a day. Analysing the effect of a short attention span caused by too much screen time and uncontrollable content that can be watched on a smartphone will prove this. To begin with, letting children spend more than 10 hours on their smartphones a day will cause them to have short attention spans. For instance, watching too many TikTok videos, which mostly are under three minutes long, affects children’s memory, allowing them to have short-term memory loss syndrome. While the adverse effects are obvious, most parents are not ready to limit their children’s screen time. It is clear that spending long hours on smartphones has a negative effect on children’s intelligence. On the other hand, giving access to kids to freely spend their time on gadgets without accompanying them can lead to uncontrollable content. Speaking of which, many kids watch content that is not suitable for their age. There are also times that they play a game, or so they thought it was a game, but turns out to be a game from a gambling site, for example. Hence, the absence of the parents brings a fundamental issue on the uncontrollable contents that are enjoyed by the kids. Therefore, it is certain that spending too much time on gadgets leads to more adverse effects. To conclude, children between the ages of 5 to 12 should not be left alone with their gadgets for a long period of time since it causes slower development of their brains and allows them to access content that is not made for their age. Thus, I believe the negative impacts are much greater than the positive impacts. After a thorough analysis of this matter, it is recommended that parents set a time limit for their kids in using smartphones, and set their gadgets into kid mode.