Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the usage of technology is increasing considerably day by day, especially for kids who are the main users of it. They spend most of their time on their cellphones to do various activities as it is necessary in some cases. I would argue that this is a negative trend due to the reasons which will be discussed below. There are some rationales behind the increasing preference for using smartphones in particular during childhood. Firstly, technology curbs the traditional ways of many tasks as entertainment. For instance, playing video games is tremendously of great pleasure for juveniles and they lose track of time tirelessly. Secondly, they can communicate with their peers easily and even make new friends in some applications. Finally, when youngsters scroll through social media, they face lots of different information which can act as a distraction for them. It is needless to mention that this trend has a set of distinct negative effects. To present a better explanation, by using phones for contacting friends and family, it might be challenging for little ones to have face-to-face communication as they get accustomed to having their relationship via chatting, making video calls and sending voice messages. For example, statistics show that spending so much time on the internet can lead to mental and physical problems. In spite of causing concentration issues, technology was beneficial during COVID-19 owing to the fact that all the classes were held online. To sum up, children have a great tendency to dedicate their time to their cell phones. As far as I am concerned, it can be helpful for education, otherwise, it is a detrimental development.