In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

In many branch of sports, the numbers of athletes who got caught using illegal drugs to increase their ability is on a rise. This essay will suggest that high pressure to win competition makes athletes willing to take the substance. This can be prevented by implementing rules that require them to take drug tests before the competition and punish them if they have violated it. Naturally, A person's goal in joining competition is to win. Especially in professional sports, where there is a high stake in taking home precious awards. Hence, many sportsmen cheat their way to the top by consuming unregulated substances to give them a physical advantage in beating their opponents. For example, there was a massive doping scandal involving the Russian Winter Olympic Team in 2020. As a result, 48 Olympic medals were stripped from Russia in that year's Olympic Regulators need to take action in protecting the integrity of the game. The best solution to this issue is to require specific drug tests for anyone who wants to compete in the sporting event. Furthermore, there is need to be a punishment to anyone who are taking those illegal suplements. The IOC had banned Russian Olympic Committee (ROC) contingent from joining later Olympic events because of the doping scandal involving them. Consequently, there has been zero case of cheating in olympic since that accident. In conclusion, athletes' competitive spirit in reaching their goals can result in them consuming illegal essences. For that reason, rules and punishments should be implemented by the regulator