Some people say that punishment is the best way to teach children to behave well, while others disagree and point out that rewarding and praising them is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In the contemporary era, a growing number of individuals believed that punishment in educating children is the best way to make them obedient while others hold the idea that reward children is better. Personall, I am convinced that the combination between punishment and rewarding are the best way to teach children and this essay would be explaining both sides. First and foremost, the main reason why a number of individuals holds that idea is punishment helps children recognize right and wrong behavior after they cause a consequence. Moreover, punishment can help build discipline and self-control, based on fear of bad consequences. However, only marginal punishments should be applied and children should not be punished by violence so that children are more aware of their behavior. For instance, the number of Asian’s strictly parents applied light punishment on their children such as confiscate a child's favorite item or punish them without watching TV for a day so that they remember their mistakes and do not make them again. On the other hand, rewarding children is also a very good act of educating children. Some people believe that rewarding children for being obedient will give them more motivation and help them build self-discipline, rather than fear of punishment. However, rewards sometimes also need to be accompanied by punishment when children do wrong. They need to improve self-awareness and the ability to recognize wrong or right. In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that older generations should combine the punishment and reward to teaching children in the best way.