It is increasingly popular in many countries around the world to research the history of one's own family. why might people want to do this? it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a growing number of individuals are becoming increasingly keen to learn about their family history. There are several reasons behind this tendency and my strong belief is that it is a positive phenomenon. First and foremost, there are various reasons why people have a desire to investigate their family’s history. In fact, learning and discovering family roots is a great approach to help younger generations understand about their origin, status in society and even themselves. In addition, family history also helps bond kinship relationships within the family and maintain and preserve the stunning traditions of that family. For instance, many Vietnamese people living abroad since childhood have always wanted to learn about their roots, from which they can shorten the generation gap with their ancestors and gain more knowledge about national culture such as Tet holidays, how to wrap banh chung and the positions of family members. Based on the above positive reasons, I maintain the view that family history research really brings many good benefits to society. First, through researching one's roots, each person can gain more knowledge about family members. What's more, they can continue to maintain the traditions of their ancestors. For illustration, there is a lot of Vietnamese’s family that passes on the silk business to their descendants. When their younger generations research the family history, they will have a desire about to continue and promote this tradition to make it grow further. In conclusion, there are several explanations why research about family roots is increasing significantly. Personally, I am convinced that this is a positive trend.