Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that nowadays children use their mobile phones more than usual for a variety of reasons. Also, I believe that this portable communication device is a positive kind of development. In the following paragraphs, both issues will be discussed. Children spend time on their cell phones for their several usages. Firstly, mobile phones become the most popular gadgets in today's world which revolutionized the ways of communication. So, teenagers use their smartphones to stay in touch with their friends and also be aware of their homework. For instance, in the coronavirus epidemic, all school classes were held online and that was the only way teachers could be aware of their students and their educational situation. Secondly, children use these small gadgets to surf the internet and find answers to their problems and also promote their educational status by watching useful videos and helping their creativity. Finally, students also use their smartphones to play games whenever there is no one to play with. Nevertheless, mental games can challenge them and improve their problem-solving ability. In my view, mobile phones and also advancements in technology have several benefits which outweigh their negative points. Actually, they are multi-functional devices which can decline our needs for other devices. For example, having voice or video calls, sending messages or emails, and tracking exercise goals are some of the advantages. In addition, people can have the fastest access to their documents, images, and their music. Furthermore, by having a mobile phone, there is no need for paper maps or calendars. In summary, Mobile phones can be a profitable device for children and they can do most of their tasks related to their school. Also, it seems to me that smartphones can be the most convenient and useful gadgets for human life.