Some people believe that arts (such as painting and music) do not improve people's life therefore the government should not spend money on it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is debatable that the government should curtail the budget on arts. I partly agree with this view and I enumerate my reasons below. There are several reasons why public money should not be spent on arts. For one thing, the government has to use the taxes more practically. This is because the division of budget can directly affect a myriad of people’s lives. For example, if the government decides to allocate a budget to education instead of arts, free tuition, academic subsidies and more improved school facilities can be achieved, relieving the gap between the rich and the poor. In spite of the reason mentioned above, I support the idea that the government should invest in arts. First and foremost, art works are the major heritage of mankind, reflecting the society and the culture. Case in point, Monalisa by da Vinci, Almond Blossom by van Gogh, and The Son of Man by Magritte represent different ages, respectively. Therefore, the authorities should spend enough money to preserve these masterpieces, spreading not only artistic values but also historical properties. Second,, arts can effectively convey important messages to people. Due to the fact that arts can unleash sympathy, compassion and inspiration more easily than an address or short writings. For instance, Life is Beautiful, which is a movie in terms of Holocaust and The Second World War, can elicit an immersion for in warning and elicit tragedy of war. For these reasons, it is worth vitalizing the arts. In a nutshell, although some people contend that the government should aim at other goals instead of supporting art, the investment on in art is needed for the reasons related to cultural and emotional values.