Young people spend their free time in shopping malls. This has negative effects on young people and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that teenagers spend their spare time in shopping centers, consequently, brings undesirable effects on them and the community. I partially agree with such a point of view, because even though it is important to hang out with friends to socialize, it is not a good idea to encourage teenagers to spend so much money on unnecessary things. On the one hand, this way of life can encourage youngsters to buy junk that they do not even need for real, because society tends to stimulate consumption, consequently, there is a waste of money often in unnecessary products. For example, it is estimated that 60% of young people in Latin America spend part of their weekends in shopping centers buying clothing and shoes, which results in impulse consumption. Additionally, it can bring debt and develop an addiction to shopping, therefore, it will bring financial problems. On the other hand, it is a good idea for youngsters to go to a shopping mall to know new people, makes new friends and has a pleasant time relaxing, because it can improve their mental health, thus, they will be in a good mood and not feel isolated. For example, it is known that only 10% of teenagers in the USA who go to shopping malls on weekends tend to develop depression in adult life and it is a small amount, consequently, they are able to go to shopping malls only to hang out with friends and have a delightful time. Moreover, when youngsters have an active social life they will be happier and it is the best choice to combat mental illnesses, consequently, stimulating their brains. To conclude, I do believe that young people normally buy useless items due to impulsive consumption, in spite of saving money and avoiding future economic troubles. Ideally, not only should youngsters have to hang out with friends, but also have a delightful time to relax their minds.