In the past important knowledge and history were stored in the museum. Nowadays information is freely available on the Internet therefore is no longer a need for museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that all necessary information about science and history is stored on the Internet these days and museums are not needed any more. It is partly agreed that online knowledge is a good replacement for museums and exhibitions nowadays. In this essay, I will shed some light on the issue and provide my personal opinion about the topic. To begin with, the internet is a wonderful place where a lot of ideas and knowledge have found their home. With a basic awareness of language and browsing access, a person can find almost everything they want about math or history. For instance, the free-to-use platform Khan Academy provides hundreds of well-structured courses from the school curriculum and helps kids throughout the world excel at humanities disciplines or maths. So, the Internet definitely opened huge possibilities for numerous people on our planet. On the other hand, the internet is not capable of providing a sense of community and access to unique and rare exhibitions. Modern museums it is not only old things dug out in Peru or Spain, it is an ingenious and resourceful approach to sharing information among the citizens. For example, New York's Modern History Museum tends to arrange numerous immersive spectacles for all ages and helps youngsters make their first steps in the comprehension of science and history. To sum up, it can be clearly seen that the Internet could be a plausible replacement for modern museums and exhibitions in terms of accumulating knowledge and exploring new fields. However, like cinema has not replaced theatre, the internet is not able to substitute our desire to gather together and discuss our ideas in special facilities.