In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the number of elderly people is increasing in many nations. While an ageing population doesn't have enough working employees, I believe that there're more advantages because the elderly have more expertise and can work effectively even after retirement. The main drawback with a large number of citizens over 65 is the lack of employees in a myriad of job fields. The reason is that the optimal working period for a human fall between 18- 50 years old and most older people can't execute in jobs with high levels of details. Japan, for instance, suffered for decades due to the lack of available workers in their electronic factories and had to accepts employees from other Asian countries such as Vietnam. On the other hand, a large number of elder people in society can provide a profound knowledge, experience and the long-term vision that most young workers can't have. Therefore, they will be suitable to work as experts and consultants for companies, groups or even the government. For example, most members of the Vietnamese consultation groups are experts in their fields with the average age of over 60. Another advantage is that with easy access to the Internet, elderly citizen can now study new abilities and skills and continue their contributions in new positions such as content creators, models, coders or gamers. Hamako Mori, a 90-year old Japanese citizen, is now world-famous for her excellent gaming skills who can still play 7-8 hours a day and be able to compete in world championships. In conclusion, an ageing population can restrict the number of employees in various job fields however, the elderly can still work effectively with their expertise to provide consultations or contribute their talents in new position.