In many societies, there is growing emphasis on sustainable living and reducing environmental impact.

Many countries around the world stress the importance of living a sustainable lifestyle in order to minimize individual damage to the climate. While the adoption of sustainable living can be challenging in some respects, there are several tried approaches individuals can take to do their part in environmental conservation. The main issue with the idea of making sustainable lifestyle choices is their cost. That is, because sustainable products require more labour and time to produce, they tend to be costlier than the ones manufactured on an industry scale. Take food as an example. Labour costs associated with organic farming make organic food significantly more expensive than processed food, which involves less human input. Similarly, electric cars which run on renewable energy are still largely unaffordable to the general public because of the relative newness of this technology. Furthermore, the geographical availability of green products is limited to First World countries such as the US and the UK. Therefore, the scarcity of eco-friendly products in developing nations of the world makes sustainable living largely unattainable to people residing in these areas. In spite of the challenges mentioned above, individuals can still take some steps to mitigate their harm to the environment. One example of such steps is developing conscientious purchasing habits. These habits involve buying second-hand products or durable items, which would not only counter growing consumerism and its resultant damage to the environment, but would also prove cost-effective to the individual. Even more helpful is practising mindful energy consumption. Being frugal when using energy sources such as electricity and gas could ease the human burden on natural resources. This is merely a small contribution on an individual level, but it accumulates over time to make a substantial positive environmental impact. In conclusion, while the cost of green products and their limited availability are the main obstacles for people wishing to switch to a sustainable lifestyle, they can still play a part in alleviating their damage to the environment by making ethical purchasing decisions and practising thriftiness while using different sources of energy.