Childhood obesity is increasing at rapid rates in developed countries. What are some of the causes of this problem? What are some ways in which childhood obesity rates can be reduced?

Nowadays, in occidental counties obesity has had an incredible rise for the last years. Actually, this health problem is seeing in the youngest, a fact that should concern to our government and take action about it. In this essay, I am going to discuss some of the causes and possible solutions that this issue may has. In my humble opinion, I think that the main cause is the new habits of the teenagers. They spend more time on a chair, doing class, homework as well as playing games on the computer or watching television instead of doing sports or playing outside. Furthermore, most of the sports activities have to be payed, as a result, a lot of families cannot afford take their children to play football or do volleyball. Moreover, the increase of food taxes has had an incredible impact in the obesity rates, because it is cheaper to buy a pack of biscuits than bananas, which is nuts. Possible solutions to this problem may be promoting free physical activities in communities that provides families with less resources the opportunity to give their teenagers some outside entertainment. Additionally, government should get down the prices of green stores. Finally, children should have a limit time of technology and be encouraged to go play in the park. In conclusion, obesity is a dilemma that just develop countries has. We should start to arise the overfeeding that occidental inhabitants have, and think solutions to face this issue, beginning with our youngest, because they are the future of our communities.