The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is commonly accepted that the betterment of human lives should be the main focus of scientific knowledge and applications. While I understand the necessity of science in elevating the standard of living of people, I believe the scientific domain should not be limited to this. This essay will explain why I only partially agree with the statement. Firstly, since humans are the ones who work with science, it would seem logical if science was primarily utilized to improve their lives. Universally, there are millions of people who experience substandard living conditions, even devoid of basic needs. If scientific applications are concentrated in fields like agriculture, medicine, and transport, these people might be able to obtain a better livelihood. The advancement of technologies will also benefit the ones who are already in better conditions by making their everyday life easier. Having considered all that, it is important to understand that if the primary goal of science is to enhance human lives, other aspects of our living world will be deprived of its utility. For example, more research needs to be diverted into the advancements of ecological science in order to preclude the extinctions of multiple species, some of which are essential to maintaining the diversity of the gene pool. Moreover, other fields such as environmental technology also need attention. A recent study published in Elsevier showed that the rate of depletion of groundwater levels in South Asian countries is alarming, and needs balancing to ensure sustainability. Therefore, it can be seen that the focus of science should also be expanded over the other elements of the earth. To conclude, I do not fully concur with the notion that the main goal of science should be the enhancement of human lives because the utility of science should be more diverse so as to meet the requirements of our planet.