It was observed that in some countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects at universities . What are the causes ? What effects does this have on society

In this contemporary era, numerous countries have been suffering from a shortage in the number of science subjects learners. The main reasons behind this phenomenon are the high tuition fees, as well as, the process of obtaining a degree in a science field is a quite lengthy process. However, this dilemma will lead to dire consequences because society will suffer from a sharp reduction in the appropriate provided services. To embark on, several years are required to complete and obtain a bachelor's degree in any science subjects. In other words, the majority of science subjects such as dentistry, engineering, and medical analysis schools need at least six years to complete the undergraduate years. As a result, many young individuals favour securing their future and engaging in the labour market earlier; thus, numerous young students prefer to study other subjects instead of science subjects that may waste their time. In addition to that the high tuition fee that is needed to study science majors is another considerable factor that can put financial burdens on some families who will eventually send their minors to study another field. For instance, in Iraq, the approximate cost of one year in a dentistry school is about ten thousand dollars which cannot be afforded by many families. As a consequence, the gradual reduction in the number of learners of science subjects could lead to dire consequences in the foreseeable future. To illustrate, the continuous decline in the number of some science majors such as medicine and dentistry means that in the short-term future, the average of healthcare workers and the provided health services will diminish in direct proportion. Moreover, the percentage of population is rapidly increasing which means that a huge proportion of patients will be deprived of appropriate medical services as a direct result of this shortage. This can be exemplified by a survey conducted by NHS in the United Kingdom which revealed that there is around one dentist for every five hundred patients; therefore, patients have to wait for months to receive their appropriate dental treatment. In conclusion, after this essay has reiterated the above-mentioned points, it can be assumed that studying science majors takes several years to complete and this is the main culprit behind the severe decline in the proportion of students in these fields. This issue will negatively affect society which may witness a serious drop in the number of given services.