The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Knowledge is instantly available over the Internet to people on mobile phones and computers anywhere on Earth. Normally, almost all the information ready to use on the World Wide Web is free of charge. Only some websites such as the ones from newspaper companies are paid. There are some positive aspects and some negative points that we will discuss next. One of the main positive points of this fact is that the knowledge is broadcasted for everybody, no matter their economic class or localization. Poor and wealthy people have access to the same information, at the same time, anywhere. And in the modern world, knowledge is power. For this reason, this is a good way to empower those who do not have good social or economic conditions, so they get a better life. On the other hand, due to the fact that the information is free, this information can be less reliable. This occurs because the people or companies that put information online for free are not committed to the truth and they do not suffer the consequences as a professional journalist can do. Therefore, it is an important drawback to consider the knowledge obtained for free by the Internet. There are many examples, especially about politics, in which a campaign can publish some fake news against the opposition, just to get some votes. To summarize, there are advantages and disadvantages of this trend. We must pay attention to what information is genuine and what is not, reporting when we find it. Overall, there are more benefits than harms to getting free data and information from the Internet.