WRITING TASK 2 Write about the following topic: In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, electronic payments are used in a wide range of regions. The majority of the population agrees that it brings massive convenience to their everyday lives as they don't need to carry cash all the time anymore. Based on this trend, I believe that business owners will replace cash payments with e-payments in the near future. Unfortunately, some elders and parts of the youths are not satisfied with this improvement. It might be a challenge for older generations to solve the payment issues in markets that are caused by their smartphone technology. For instance, my mother always calls me to check the operation of a certain step to check out which makes her feel complicated and wastes both of our time. Apart from this, bad eyesight is another obstacle for old people since the instructions on their phone screens are too small for them to read. Because of this, they have to carry a pair of glasses with them, compared with using cash, causing extra inconvenience for them. Therefore, they prefer the traditional ways more and they are not satisfied with the change. As far as private concerns, some young people feel anxiety about this trend because they worry that records of daily expenses can be shared with other organizations or business owners. An evidence of this can be seen from the truth that after people pay for a training club, they get phone calls from another center, offering a better discount. Thus, they feel unhappy and dangerous as their personal payment records are shared or tracked freely. In conclusion, although there are downsides to paying without cash, I believe this is a trend in our society that the e-payment system will replace the traditional method in the future.