Some people believe that watching TV is waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Justify your response.

Many people claim that watching TV is a waste of time; however, other people think that is a great entertainment and source of learning for the family. I firmly believe that watching TV is a waste of time. The first and foremost reason is that generally, when watching TV, the person is sitting or lying down, which contributes to a sedentary and unhealthy lifestyle, leading to obesity and heart disease. There is no physical effort, therefore, it can impact negatively people ’s well-being. For example, nowadays all TV devices have remote control, then most people do not stand up to change the channel of the TV or to program it, as all can be done by remote control. The second reason is that watching TV is a passive activity, which offers content without the necessity of critical thinking, inhibiting the ability to solve problems and behaviour skills. It can consume time and energy that should be used productively with activities that contribute to professional or personal growth. For instance, some children spend a lot of time watching TV and do not do homework or study, do not help with household chores, and that is why they do not develop their full intellectual capacity. Another point that should be considered is that some people, especially retired people, are so focused on the routine of TV programs that they forget the importance of family and social interaction. They have no relationships and consequently suffer from feelings of unproductivity and loneliness. An example is my father-in-law, who often after his retirement, spends a long time in front of the TV. To sum up, while some people prefer TV for entertainment purposes, I share the idea that watching TV is a waste of time because it can lead to a sedentary lifestyle, inhibiting critical thinking and behaviour skills, as well as diminishing social and family interaction.