Some people believe studying literature is essential for individual character building, while others think it wastes time. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

There is an opinion that studying literature is very important for everyone's character building, however, there is also another point of view that spending time on reading something is useless. I believe that reading books may help you in many ways, but not build your individual character. To begin with, learning literature actually can help you in your life. Therefore, if you study literature, your knowledge will be improved. It is obvious that there are no books or lectures which are written by not so smart people. Thus, spending time on reading or studying literature can not be a waste of time. For example, if you study someone's biography or poems, you can probably read something interesting, then think it over and, as a result, get life's experience. Literature not only can be exciting, but also bring something special for everyone. On the other hand, how can literature be something essential for your individual character building? As an illustration, if you read any fairy tales where the main character is kind and generous you would not have the same character traits. For instance, although I have read many stories, poems and other types of literature, I do not think that influenced my character. To sum up, I am on the side of people who think that literature actually matters, however, it is not essential for our character building because of many other factors of individual character building as parents, friends and close society in general.