Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities around thw world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you thing this statement is? What measures can governments takes to disocurage people from using their cars?

The availability of funds and the increase in business communication with other regions triggered the rise of private cars in some states, especially in developing countries. Therefore, traffic congestion soared over the last three decades. The statement is true for some third-world countries. The key reason behind this is the less consciousness of environmental pollution. Additionally, communities are more concerned about their privacy and safety. Moreover, public transport never ensured the proper environment. For instance, Dhaka, the capital city of Bangladesh, introduced more than 200 per cent of private cars. As a result, roads are facing a huge number of traffics, which is directly responsible for a huge amount of jam. Now, people have to spend more than an hour to reach their destination, which is actually a 10-minute walking distance. The government should take some prompt actions to resolve this issue. First of all, it should impose higher taxes beyond the budget of the societies, who are intended to buy new cars. The next step should be concentrated on improving the facilities of public transport. Thus, people will diverted to it. For example, The facilities of public transport, like buses and trains, in Italy are remarkable. Thereafter, communities are more relaxed to use this mode of transportation. Consequently, its traffic congestion is almost zero. If it is possible to increase these facilities in Dhaka, it will minimise the jam and people can lead a better life. In conclusion, it can be said that, as automobile ownership creates several problems, there is no way to limit it. Only, the government can stop it by applying different rules and regulations, whereas the public can accelerate it by following these.