In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think that is a positive or a negative development?

Residents of the countryside would rather live in cities than in rural areas nowadays, thus the number of inhabitants is declining. Moving to cities is a negative development that may lead to overpopulation which can cause traffic issues, residence problems, and employment shortage. The first and main, overcrowding in cities can lead to several drawbacks such as traffic jams and high prices in real estate value. The people, who move to big cities, require a place to live, so there is a supply-demand issue that increases the costs of an apartment, so they become not affordable. Therefore, in the end, people might be homeless or be trapped in poverty for the long term. Additionally, the growing population can cause traffic congestion, specifically traffic jams. Hence, it can be stressful and exhausting for people to use public transport or vehicles on a daily basis. Secondly, another thing to worry about is the shortage of jobs in cities. Due to immigration to urban areas, there is competition in the labour market. In this regard, the employers might behave themselves inappropriately, as well as decrease the salary or demand something that is not their job description, because they can replace them with a new employee easily. This can result in unemployment and low wages. In conclusion, the given examples show the negative effects of urban relocations, it can harm every citizen as well as the people who move out. In order to avoid these problems, the government should improve the conditions of rural zones to make life in the countryside more attractive. Otherwise, urban resettlements will not stop.