In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

The issue of whether students who finish their high school go to work or travel abroad before they begin studying tertiary education. While there are some disadvantages for students, I believe the main advantages are more substantial. On the one hand, people's concerns about delaying higher education are largely justifiable. To begin with, students can lose the knowledge of academic courses during the gap. Therefore, they can find it difficult to readapt to an academic environment and can get peer pressure. Additionally high school seniors can lose momentum after a long time being away from formal school. For example, they can pursue a career or try something completely if they may fall behind in their study. However I suppose that it is less likely to happen these days and the benefits of doing that are far more than the drawbacks. On the plus side, the young adults who are involved with work and travel to other places can enrich their life experience and practical skills. Moreover, students can be more indepedent and mature compared to their peers and have a broader view about their life. In addition, spending several months looking for job opportunities or attending vocational training courses will empower their students to identify a suitable career path. For example they can learn to be committed and dedicated to a job and accomplish their tasks which is very important in academics and jobs. As a result they are able to develop their social skills and expand their horizons about the aspects of life. In conclusion despite the negative factors such as the difficulties in the study of youngers,I think young generation should spend one year looking the career opportunites or traveling can help them develop skills and have a wide view about social life.