There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays,Young students are facing a lot of pressure to obtain successful academic studies. Hence,some people believe that courses such as art and sports must be removed from the educational system, in order to encourage children to focus on academic work. However, I disagree with that statement and I will explain why in this essay. Introducing children to non-academic subjects is without a doubt crucial to their education.It helps uncover hidden talents they may have,which will lead to giving students more options in the future. As we all know this world has different jobs and occupations, such as doctors,teachers and artists, which guarantee balance in daily life. Thus,it is important to teach subjects like art and physical education to encourage students to find their passion, and decide what they want to become in the future.To illustrate, a study at New York University showed that 86.4% of young people who studied academic and non-academic subjects were able to choose their career wisely. While the ones who did not get that chance, struggled to determine if they want a certain job or not,and they ended up quitting. Moreover,it is important to teach children those subjects because it helps reduce stress. Also, it can be the perfect escape they need in order to focus on other subjects.As we know, a child needs some time to have fun.In fact, that can be a good reason for them to enjoy being at school. For instance,an article in Le Matin newspaper showed that students at schools that offers a variety of subjects are often relaxed and have better grades than others who only study academic subjects. To sum up,presenting a variety of subjects in educational institutions is key to success, because it allows young people to discover new things and determine what they want to be in the future. Thus, I totally disagree with the idea of only teaching academic material.