Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that advances in artificial intelligence (AI) will bring a range of benefits in the foreseeable future. Others, however, fear that we are not equipped with the skills and experience needed to deal with computers or other technological devices that are becoming smarter than us. I personally agree with the first group. On the one hand, the main reason why some people think that AI might become a threat to human survival is that intelligent machines may become so smart that they could take control of humans one day in the future. Robots and machines might be able to make their own decisions without being given the permission of humans. Without the necessary knowledge, skills and experience, we might become their slaves. This could also lead to a war between humans and intelligent machines, posing a serious threat to the entire world. On the other hand, I would agree with those who think that developments in the field of AI will have beneficial effects on our lives in the not so distant future. For example, thanks to breakthroughs in satellite and spacecraft technologies, scientists will be able to make more precise predictions about extreme events, such as asteroid collisions or violent storms, which might threaten life on earth. Another example is that advances in automobile technology would help curb traffic congestion and improve road safety. Driverless cars and surveillance cameras would greatly contribute to minimising traffic accidents and traffic offences. In conclusion, although some people are worried about the threats that AI will cause to the world, I personally believe that developments in this technology will bring huge benefits to our lives.