Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It has been widely claimed that smartphones are used by some young people for hours every day. This essay will first discuss the reason for the behaviour of using smartphones with children before elaborating on why I consider it to be a negative improvement. To begin with, it might seem reasonable for some to believe the claim because nowadays the smartphone is involved with basic activities of children such as communication or studying due to the technological development in society. For example, many children use it to research knowledge from the internet and to communicate with their parents, since it is easier and more convenient than going to the library and writing a letter. From this perspective, it is understandable that using smartphones become an essential thing among them and it cannot be avoided because it is an important tool for routine life. However, I personally believe that the circumstance leads to negative development because it could reduce the concentration of children on their education in physical classes in school. For instance, using a smartphone to search for information could be a convenient and easy method because it is fast to assess the data, however, it can cause any child to lack endurable skills in no available internet situation in case they only spend a too long duration of time on a smartphone. As a consequence, it would have a negative effect on their learning development in school. In conclusion, it is undeniable that a smartphone is a useful tool for young people, I am the option to believe that uncontrolled time to use technology could cause a negative side because it could be an obstacle to developing some skills of offspring such as concentration and tolerance on education.