85.Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development. But some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that many nations improve their living standard through economic progress. This essay would argue that despite it can create job opportunities, individuals forget their ethical values, which means that the advantages do not outweigh the drawbacks. The main advantage of flourishing economic conditions is that it will create job opportunities, in this way, it will improve the employment rate, and poverty will be reduced in the nation, so fewer people will die of hunger. Also, economic growth will result in increased tax revenue which can be allocated towards public services such as healthcare and education, this will help the country to develop better. For example, in some Asian countries, the rapid economic growth has lifted millions out of poverty through industries such as manufacturing and tourism. However, I believe that the success of a country cannot only depend on the economy since other factors also influence the development of a nation. However, economic prioritization can sometimes harm social values. This is because there is a lack of ethical values, individuals will only think of making more money and do not care about anything else, leading to a decline in social interaction, Also, people are willing to do everything to gain money, even illegal actions or carrying out activities which can harm others. For instance, in many European countries is very normal to see people taking drugs or selling drugs, even though it is illegal, but people will still do it since it is an easy way to gain money. In my opinion, although economic development can bring benefits to society, individuals’ values are harmed. In conclusion, although economic development is undoubtedly advantageous, it is crucial to recognize that social values are more important, and for these reasons, the negatives far outnumber the positives.