In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some societies believe that children must be taught to be hard-working people so they can obtain everything they want. This attitude obviously contributes to their success. However, there are also some disadvantages that must be aware. Both views will be discussed in the following paragraph. The diligent people produce quality work, and they receive an excellent reputation in return. This is because they do something carefully. For instance, a student prepared for an exam three weeks in advance, and he had complete notes to support his study, then eventually he got a very good mark. By doing this attitude continuously, the kids will develop a permanent character and become reliable adults in the future. This kind of people benefit the others. We can see our experience in a good restaurant as an example, we keep coming back if we receive excellent service from their workers. On the other hand, giving the message to be a hardworking person too frequently can be a pressure. Some of them might be misunderstood about the point if we treat their achievements as a competition. Instead of being hardworking for themselves, they do that to receive their parents' approval. This can be exhausting for them mentally. The favouritism in the family is a prime example, if a child continuously does whatever their parents want, they will lose their identity while the least favourite family members lose their confidence. This can be prevented by giving them options and assisting them to asses what is good or bad, also praise them evenly so no one feels left behind. In conclusion, children still need encouragement from their parents. However, the adults must do it with balance so they do not feel stressed and exhausted.