A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks

It is an irrefutable fact that nowadays the tourism sector generates significant national income in many countries. However, it has certain drawbacks as well. The following paragraphs will analyze the pros and cons of this tendency before making a final note. To commence with the advantages of tourism, first and foremost, it generates new workplaces for local people and, subsequently, greatly supports the economy. More specifically, in order to cater to the demand from tourists for accommodation, catering, transportation, and more, companies have to hire more people. Take, for example, Samarkand. It is a small historical city visited by thousands of tourists every year. Therefore, the main source of income for the majority of the population is tourism. As a result, people will spend their income on other services and products, thereby boosting the economy. On the negative side, tourism can cause negative consequences if not properly managed by the local government. For instance, Thailand is generally believed to not be a safe place to travel because travelers with money to spend and valuable equipment can be robbed by locals. Substantially, the rate of criminal activity may rise, which is also dangerous for the local communities. Moreover, tourists may damage historical buildings and adversely affect the environment, causing pollution. Nevertheless, all the issues can be tackled by the government. In a nutshell, I personally believe that the merits of tourism outweigh the demerits because it is an essentially important economic sector and, sometimes, the only source of income for individuals. Therefore, it should be properly managed and controlled by the government in order to eliminate undesirable consequences.