Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to the reduction of greenhouse gas, the government should raise funding for railways and expand the rail network rather than motorway infrastructure. I totally agree to allocating investments in the rail industry instead of road-building. The investments in railways could benefit nations in introducing an eco-friendly way to commute. As a result of investing in railways, the state could cut down on the number of private vehicles and encourage people to use trains. The implication of this is to reduce car fume emissions, which devastatingly damage the atmosphere. Moreover, safety is deliberated if work labourers travel by trains, leading to fewer accidents than cars. For instance, some European countries recently take track into account when they consider developing public facilities. Besides, the improvement of rail line can be a promising lever for attracting tourists. In other words, if the government granted the train facilities and rails, more and more passengers would be transported because a train is one of the fastest transportation to travel among regions. To illustrate this, Vietnam has poured money into railways to construct the Metro in the centre of the city, which will potentially be a remarkable feat for the transportation industry. Therefore, this can attract domestic and international tourists to visit the city so that the regional budget will be increased. In conclusion, despite the fact that many people still travel on roads every day, the investment in railways could be advantageous to some degree. In my opinion, fostering the railways may lead to the restriction on air pollutant release and incentivize people to use trains frequently.