In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Certain people believe that old people, who live longer nowadays, are a cause of problems for authorities, while others see the positive sides if there are more ageing people. It should be noted that having increasing number of retired people is a postivie development, but there are also some drawbacks. Apparently, people in old age cannot work and pay taxes to the government, so their growing number does not give social value. For instance, if the population who are able to work are less than the retirees’ number, the economic factor of the country will suffer, which may lead to several problems such as a domestic money crisis and a staff shortage in the labour market. Additionally, some retired people may be disabled or gravelly ill, so they need extra care, nurturing and medical assistance, especially if they do not have relatives who can look after them. On the other hand, oldsters might help the youth to develop in many aspects, due to the experience and knowledge that they gained. A clear example of this is the university staff, and the majority of them are people in their golden age, they are considered as the best specialists in their areas. Furthermore, they can give a hand to their younger relatives with household issues and with babysitting. There are plenty of examples of adults who spent their childhood mostly with their grandparents. In conclusion, a rising number of seniors may be problematic to the public authorities. However, there are benefits to having them in our society that should be taken into account.