Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people say that national authorities should invest more finances in constructing railways, rather than roads. I strongly agree with this statement, because trains are the safest and eco-friendly way of travelling, in contrast with cars, which increase air pollution and the risk of crashes. When the governments spend more money on building and improving the road system, this simply leads to a rise in automobile usage with all the additional drawbacks. The most significant negative outcome is the carbon dioxide pollution which cars are causing every day, in addition to the higher frequency of car crashes on the roads. For example, when the highway between Istanbul and Ankara was built in 2014, the Turkish government declared after one year that it was a mistake because the country had never seen so many car accidents before. On the other hand, if the national authorities put their money into railway construction and development, this will, I believe, increase the utilization of the train system. A train is the fastest and the most approachable way for a person to travel from one place to another and, moreover, it is much more eco-friendly as it reduces harmful air contamination. For instance, when the railway line between Sofia and the local villages around the city was released in 2021, the mayor of the city announced that so many people abandoned their cars and travelled by train, that a 35% rise in the air quality was noticed for only a month of exploitation. In conclusion, I think that the country authorities should invest more in railway systems than in roads because this will decrease major environmental and national problems.