Some people claim that today’s technologies have changed the way children spend their free time, leading to some problems. Others say that this phenomenon benefits children in some respects. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion.

Technology, on which many people including children rely, has become a more and more controversial topic. While some people believe spending spare time with technology can benefit children, others argue that it could lead to some detrimental effects. In the forthcoming paragraphs, both viewpoints will be explained, leading to my agreement with the latter statement. To begin with, those who support exposing children to technology even in their leisure time claim that technology offers anti-monotonous entertainment which results in a well-spent spare time. Examples can be seen in the way children use the internet to play various genres of games and even they can try to explore how it is to become a streamer. Therefore, children have the freedom to decide if they want to have pure entertainment or a combination of entertainment and study. Eventually, the freedom which children will encourage them to be creative and innovative. Moreover, the proponent of this statement promotes the idea that technology as an entertainment tool for children could be considerably cheap. Initially, it might cost some money to afford those devices and provide access to the internet but in the long term, children can make the most of technology without leaving their homes. On the other hand, some people, including me, believe that children immersed in technology are expected to have some addiction problems. With all this endless entertainment ranging from games to the realm of art, children's bodies produce certain hormones that will trigger them to use technology relentlessly. In many cases, this will negatively affect the children ’s attention span and consequently decrease their productivity in school. Additionally, technologies that require less movement can contribute to the increasing trend of diabetes in children. Finally, technology can prevent children from having an ideal social life. To conclude, it is undeniable that having technology in children's circumstances outside of school term can benefit the children to some extent at the expense of children ’s academic performance and health. Therefore, I believe children's immersing time in technology should be controlled.