In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for the society. Others think it has benefits for the society. To what extent do you think the advantages overweigh disadvantages?

In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for the society. Others think it has benefits for the society. To what extent do you think the advantages overweigh disadvantages? Nowadays, people are having longer lives in many parts of the world compared to their previous generations. Some believe that this issue is problematic for governments; however, others think it will have benefits for the society. I believe that ageing of population has more negative consequences such as need of provision of extra medical and curing service for elderly people as well as less functionality of society in terms of economy as many of its members are overaged. Firstly, elderly people need more medical services science many of them suffer uncurable health problems such as blood pressure, diabetes, and some orthopedic issues. Therefore, government should allocate a higher budget on medicine. Additionally, many of elderly people have no one to take care of them, so they need nurses to help them and again governments must consider welfare centers and facilities for this group of elderly people. Secondly, a vast portion of elderly people are not able to work, therefore, they can not help the growth of country’s economy and in this way, society may face crisis of minimal youth population which will take a long time to be fixed. How ever, the longer life span of people has some benefits such as the individual consent of having a longer life. It is obvious that, all happy individual, who finds life rewarding, want to live longer, therefore, people are happier as they live longer. In addition to that, elderly people have lots of operational experiences that can be useful for juvenile so that they become one of the most reliable sources of knowledge in the society. In conclusion, as the population become older, urges for health care and social assistance increase while, many of these elderly people are not able to be economical helpful for society. Despite some benefits of this issue namely individual satisfaction and transformation of wisdom and experience, disadvantages overweigh advantages.