In some countries, ordinary citizens are allowed to keep a gun in their homes. Some people think this is a good idea, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a debate over whether the personal possession of a gun should be justifiable or not. Both views will be discussed in this essay and I believe that the latter view is more persuasive. To begin with, there are some reasons why people can legitimately possess a gun. For one thing, people can protect themselves with a gun, especially when they are in a hazardous situation. There might be a moment where public power, such as police, is vacant. For example, if they are threatened by robberies, they can use their gun so as to immediately escape the danger. In spite of the reasons mentioned above, I reckon that private guns should be illegal. This is because, firstly, it leads to unsafe surroundings, causing abuse of the gun. To be specific, it would give rise to not only serious injuries but also jeopardy of life provided that someone accidentally shoots others. In fact, there are a lot of random shooting accidents in countries where the government grants to carry a gun, case in point, USA. Furthermore, the probability of a shooting accident is much greater than encountering burglars. Secondly, the legitimation of guns is deleterious to educational aspects, making children exposed to gratuitous violence. Children who grow near arms are more likely to be tamed by drastic ways to resolve the problem compared to the other kids who live without guns. In a nutshell, although some people contend that a gun is needed for self-protection, allowing to keep guns has more demerits of safety and education.