The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think, and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

People have different opinions regarding whether previous generations’ ideals are still applicable to today’s life. In my opinion, while it is true that some beliefs are no longer useful, I believe many still retain their value in our modern life. On the one hand, some conventional ideas held by our ancestors are already outdated. To commence with, I maintain that the elderly’s career advice is no longer suitable. In the past, people were prone to choose a stable career such as doctor, teacher, or engineer. On the contrary, nowadays, there is more freedom in selecting a suitable job. To illustrate, some may choose to be freelancers or startup owners without being criticized as making a poor occupational choice. In addition, it should be acknowledged that attitudes towards gender roles are not valid. In the past, women were expected to fulfil their domestic duties while their male counterparts occupied important positions in society. However, both genders are now equal in not only the family but also social context. On the other hand, some ideas are still useful nowadays. One argument in favour of the relevance of traditional ideas is that great importance is attached to hard work no matter how modern society has become. To be specific, diligence has always been rewarded, which is why lessons of being hard-working and devoted from our previous generations always remain helpful. Another point worth mentioning is that people need to be taught to be polite and have good manners. It is because certain behaviours, including showing respect to the elderly or behaving in public, are consistent with long-standing cultural values. In conclusion, despite the belief that traditional beliefs no longer bear relevance to modern life, I contend that certain values will continue to stand the test of time. Therefore, it is the young generations' responsibility to uphold those and prepare themselves for the future.