Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It cannot be denied that the progress of the economy and technology facilitates the birth of an increasing number of small and private businesses and more and more people own the opportunities to become self-employed. Such a phenomenon leads to an assumption that it is beneficial for the public to work for themselves. However, such an idea needs to be scrutinized meticulously before a conclusion can be made. First and foremost, the fact that a flexible working schedule can be available when becoming self-employed indicates that those who choose not to be employed by a company or organization tend to reach a balance between work and life. This is because becoming their bosses entitles them to determine where and when to work out of their own preference and escape from the social narrative about working around the clock that we may hear from the Internet and its corresponding peer pressure. As a result, issues in the status quo that every individual is exhausted by the intensive work, leaving no time for their family and personal hobbies can be alleviated. Second, it is a fact that due to the ownership of the business rather than the role of participant, there is more room for normal people to pursue their career success and make a fortune. For instance, Yun Ma, the chief of the Alibaba corporation, did not become successful until he started his own online business. Had he not chosen to be self-employed, he would never have raised his business empire. Although some might claim that becoming a boss can be emotionally attractive, such a choice in fact might bring multiple disadvantages. To begin with, the fact that to become a leader who is required to control all aspects of the company might result in an incredibly stressful situation that not all people are able to handle. Accordingly, psychological problems tend to occur to the bosses and affect their normal life In a nutshell, although there is a wide range of incentives to be self-employed, notable weaknesses should also be considered before a choice is made. While one sees a zero and another sees a circle, I am confident that my opponents will compromise after being exposed to my article.