The use of social media is replacing face-to-face contact with many people. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, social media has become increasingly popular. It allows people to be active in a virtual world rather than in offline meetings. In my point of view, the drawbacks of this phenomenon are predominant compared to the advantages, due to the socio-cultural values that emerge in society. On the one hand, social media is one of the effective and efficient ways to effortlessly reach other people from all around the world. People can easily connect with strangers simply from social media ’s features, such as group chats, personal direct messages, or by leaving a message in comment sections on their social media profiles. This also can be used for education or professional purposes. Pupils can interact with their teachers across the countries through Skype, a video conferencing application, while office workers can expand their professional networks and share their job accomplishments through Linkedin, a mobile application for professional-related activities. These benefits can help people gain wider connections and valuable insights that are vital for their career or future development. On the other hand, a decreasing core value in society and people ’s social ability are significant factors related to the effect of the use of social media. People who usually conduct online meetings will tend to have an awkward feeling about exposing themselves to the public. As a consequence, people ’s interpersonal skills will decline. For instance, public speaking skills will feel harder to learn because many people do not have enough experience to meet people publicly. On top of that, the user’s addiction to social media makes people less eager to meet a person face-to-face method. This can cause a decreasing value of togetherness that is grounded in several groups of people in certain countries. Currently, people may know others from their professional accounts or by their personal branding, but, in reality, several people may have issues or problems that need other people's help. Hence, social media roles to replace offline meetings are less preferable because they can reduce the sense of belonging in society. To sum up, the virtual meetings trend nowadays gives benefits in terms of reaching people globally, but, if the trend continues, there are pivotal cultures that can potentially damage the value of togetherness and the sense of community in a country.