One of the most pressing problems facing the world today is overpopulation. What policies do you believe governments should adopt to address the causes and effect of this problem?

Many areas have become overpopulated these days and this trend has raised concerns around the world. Since governments are mostly responsible for this issue, they have to take the initiative and adopt some practical policies with regard to eliminating underlying causes such as controlling population growth, meanwhile trying to reduce the negative effects like air pollution. The global population has risen at an uncontrolled speed, particularly as a result of growing economies. Citizens, especially in developing countries, are now less concerned with providing food and accommodation for their family members, so they can easily decide to have more children. This is a natural desire that anyone might have to expand their family while they are not limited by authorities. Governments should impose strict rules in order to keep the number of newly-born infants under control. For instance, They can raise the income tax of families with more than two children. This will discourage people from having more children. One of the most significant effects of overgrowth in populations around the world is air pollution. Overpopulation means that cities will expand continuously, and urban areas will be packed with people who tend to use their petrol-driven cars and vehicles on a daily basis. That is more and more cars will be driven in the streets and produce a huge amount of unhealthy gases like carbon dioxide, resulting in high levels of air pollution. With regard to this issue, officials can impose taxes on the consumption of fossil fuels and use the generated revenues to encourage electronic cars which are totally safe for the environment. In conclusion, authorities have to take immediate actions both in controlling the population rate and reducing the consequences, otherwise, it is not predictable what this destructive trend can do to our planet in the future.