Write about the following topic. Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

There is a discussion that governments should spend money on whether a few athletes' trainings to win medals at the Olympics or public awareness programmes to encourage society to avoid sedentary lifestyle. This essay agrees with the latter suggestion because citizens will be more healthy and their healthcare expenses will be decreased in the long term. Allocating a certain amount of money into health programmes can increase the knowledge of healthy and active lifestyles. The community will try to be more active; therefore, their immune systems will be stronger. A stronger defense system of body is highly effective to fight against common diseases related with sedentary lifestyle such as diabetes and obesity. Many authorities know this fact and take action to improve individuals' health. To illustrate this, in Japan, the government invests huge money in monthly health seminars that encourage society to being more active. These conferences are really popular and Japanese people regularly attending them. Healthcare expenses is estimated to be decreased with promoting citizens to being more active because insurance pricess process will be declined. The prevelance of common diseases is the main factor that determines insurance fees.When these fees decreased, society will benefit from cheap medical services. For example, in the United Kingdom, National Health Service established many programmes to persuade society to be more active and they have managed to decrease insurance costs. The United States is considering to apply these programmes in order to drop insurance fees because medical procedure prices are expensive there. In conclusion, governments should allocate more money to encourage the public awareness in order to increase the fitness level of society over train a few elite athletes to win Olympic medals. Personally, this action directly increase the awareness of healthy lifestyle and decrease insurance prices in the long term.