Some people think that schools are too competitive and that this has a negative impact on children. Others believe the competitive environment encourages children to achieve. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether competition in schools affects pupils negatively or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view, and then explain my opinion. First of all, there are people who argue that this kind of competition has a great influence on children regarding their performance in their studies. The main reason for believing this is that parents think that children when they see their classmates scoring higher grades, this will motivate the children to do extra hard work in their studies to score more. Moreover, parents think that students who take their studies more seriously will get rewarded for their results. To illustrate, when I was a school student my parents always told me to study harder in order to surpass my friend's score, and this gave me a sense of motivation because in the end I knew that I would get rewarded for my hard work. On the other hand, others believe that children put in a highly competitive environment make the results turn bad for them. This is because, students will experience an enormous amount of pressure that a school student cannot handle, so they did not know when and how to start, and this will make the student absentminded. For example, one of my classmates in the past used to experience such events. His parents used to tell him to study harder in order to be a doctor, but this thing has put him under some sort of pressure that made him distracted. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their reasons. On balance, however, my opinion is that being put in a high competition makes you want to achieve more, but there must be some sort of reward in the end to get motivated for such competition.