Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Undoubtedly, youth have been influenced by their friends and others in the same age group. Some people claim that peer pressure has benefits; however, others think that its drawbacks outweigh its advantages. In this essay, I will explore whether the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh its advantages. On one hand, individuals who believe this pressure is practical for young people, say peer pressure can be a catalyst for growth. The influence of friends causes individuals to come out of their comfort zones to do challenging activities such as going to the gym or doing volunteer jobs. These things can make young people prepare to enter society as responsible people. However, those who argue that the impact of peers is not beneficial enough, say that this pressure is just not about positive features, it can have negative effects more. For instance, youngsters follow the trends of fashion and waste their money in this way, or they might addicted to drugs if they had a hophead friend. In conclusion, while peer pressure can contribute to personal development, its potential harms cannot be ignored. The disadvantages, such as engaging in risky behaviors, may have lasting consequences on the individual. In my opinion, the disadvantages of peer pressure often outweigh the advantages, highlighting the need for a nuanced approach to social influence in youth.