The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a debate over whether news reports focused on accidents and problems is detrimental to the public. I partly agree with this view and I will enumerate my reasons below. To begin with, there are several reasons why news which mainly reports adverse aspects of society is beneficial to the people. For one thing, this tendency can alert and arouse awarness of problems of them, repeatedly reporting. This is because this publicity can encourage people to be careful about the social problems and to prevent them. Especially, it can be give an assistance to pre-empt safety accidents. For instance, if the traffic accidents related to the electric scooters are consistently reported, people can have the wariness of the same kind of accident. In spite of the reason mentioned above, I endorse that reporting news, emphasizing disadvantageous happenings, is detrimental to the whole society. Firstly, people can feel unsafe, developing their anxities about the problematic news. For example, if someone watch news related to a certain kind of crime everyday, he or she can have fear about possibility that the incident can be happened to them. Another reason commonly put forward is that, the distrust will prevail across the society, making people dull. As the news report only vurnerable affairs in the society, the torpidity of the public can be escalated, plunging the affection for their own society. In a nutshell, although reporting only downsides of society can have a few advantages, eventually it has demerits of individual and social ways.