Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The topic of public health has always sparked considerable debate. There are conflicting views on whether the government or the people themselves should shoulder the responsibility for that. Although the government inevitably plays a substantial role in public health, I believe individuals should be considered more responsible for that. I will discuss this further in the following essay. On the one hand, the government can have a crucial impact on public health based on various reasons. First and foremost, the government has the power to control the health infrastructure in society. For instance, constructing hospitals, supporting health campaigns, providing broad vaccination and educating a healthy life style to the young generation are just the least that the government can do about public health. Secondly, the stable financial and social circumstances which can provide both physical and psychological well-being for individuals are inexorably possible through the government's best policies and performance. Ultimately, the government can help the low-income level of society with free health support and treatments, which can prevent the expansion of harmful infectious diseases. On the other hand, any individual is the most important and determining factor in their health. That is, people often make their own choices regardless of the government's constructive advice and education about public health. For example, there are still a considerable number of people who smoke or have some devastating eating habits despite all the efforts the government puts into preventing them. That is the reason why I believe that people are more responsible for public health, as they can not only harm themselves but also cost the system by the wrong choices they may make. In conclusion, I believe that while the government can make invaluable efforts to provide public health, any individual should take responsibility for their own health due to the more determining role they have in public health by their lifestyles.