A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many countries have allocated huge amounts of budget for oil research and mining. In my opinion, these strategies are not sustainable and I totally agree that the government should focus more on improving alternative energy resources. Oil is an essential commodity for people worldwide. Over the years, a number of strategies in oil mining have been pushed by global leaders. One common practice for oil searching is ocean exploration which costs a large sum of capital, and it does not always guarantee success. Because this mineral is such a precious economic asset, there are instances wherein conflicts develop between countries. For instance, the Philippines and China have been fighting for the territorial rights of a certain island rich in oil. However, given that the Philippines is a financially challenged country, it suffers greatly in terms of sustaining marine protection protocols. In my opinion, energy resources should be redirected to a more sustainable measure. Natural oil resources are now depleting all over the world, even the Arab countries which are known to be the major sources of this mineral are preserving their supply. Investing in alternative energy supply such as wind, water, and solar sources is not just long-term but more earth-friendly. Solar power use is becoming known to many. It is economical and cost-efficient however, some people cannot afford the panels and installation fees needed. If only the government can subsidize household solar equipment it would certainly address the power problem. Water dams and windmills are also strategic in giving electrical supply to many houses. It can also generate electricity for large factories. Because of its natural power generation, in addition, it does not pose severe damage to the environment. In conclusion, global leaders should realign their plans for more sustainable energy resources. Investing too much in oil research may become irrelevant and useless in the future, more so it creates myriad problems in the environment.