Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment ? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem ?

Over a decade, environment issue has been main problem all around the world. Plastic, as one of the most damaging causes for this matter, has done more than enough to destroy numerous aspects of the environment as it creates a great amount of waste. However, it is believed that a synergy between the government and individuals could help to avoid or at least decrease the impact of its existent. Plastic, which generally only made for a single use, contributes a high level of disposal that human ever made. It can last for more than a hundred years in the environment because it is unable to decompose itself without any intervention from a specific technology. As a result, not only our land is slowly filled by the waste, but also it could pollute our water and even affect in the sea ecosystem. However, government plays a big role in making the right policy in plastic use. There are some regulations which will be effective to prevent an excessive amount of it and lessen the bad impact. One of the examples is to give a higher rate or tax for the material, as can be seen in most of modern market lately which started to charge more for a plastic bag. Although this creates many controversial in retails, but it is proven to raise people’s awareness and making them think twice about buying it. Not only for the government, but people also need to be more concern about this issue by changing their habit in using a plastic. People should start bringing their own shopping bag, which has been implemented in many Europe countries. Another alternative that can be done is to use a biodegradable packaging to avoid more waste and can be decomposed easily by the ecosystem. Finally, in addressing the pressing issue of a high level of waste caused by plastic, a collaborative effort between governments and individuals is essential. Effective policies, like taxing plastic materials and can curb usage, while individual actions, such as using reusable bags and biodegradable packaging, play a crucial role in mitigating environmental impact.