Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic use has been part of life since years ago. Even though the usage causes harm to the environment in the land and in the sea, the demand of plastic production does not seem to reduce. There are number of possible solutions which can be implemented to resolve this plastic pollution issue. Firstly, most developing countries have not implemented a proper waste management system. With the lack of knowledge, people throw their trash in the river and cause the plastic to get stuck in the drainage. When extreme rain happens, the plastic can prevent water from flowing, resulting in the flood. Secondly, plastic trash ends up mostly in the oceans. Sea creatures mistakenly eat it, thinking that it is food and causing them to die. Whales, turtles, and other marine animals are the biggest victims from the plastic damage in the ocean. There are two possible solutions to this plastic problem that can be done by the governments and individuals. One way to tackle this is for the government to make regulations for corporations to limit the plastic production each year. The government needs to provide firm information to production parties and impose sanctions on those who violate regulations. By doing this, the number of plastic productions can be controlled and help to reduce the usage of plastic. Another method of dealing with plastic pollution is to reduce the usage of single-use plastic. People have to use an alternative for plastic, something that can be recycled or used multiple times. To start, it can be done by reducing the plastic consumption in day-to-day life such as food wrapper, cup, and shopping bag. In conclusion, by reducing the usage of disposable plastic products, it can help the environmental issues that cause flood and death of marine animals.