Successful companies use advertising to make more sales. What can make an advertisement very effective? Do you think this is a bad or a good thing for the society?

Nowadays, it is contended that significant corporations often utilise advertising tools to boost sales. In the advertising world, personalized and well-researched content is the key to effectively converting engagements to actual purchases. Nevertheless, I believe that it is a bad thing for the community since massive marketing gimmicks will catalyze them to consumptive behaviour. First and foremost, in order to make the target audiences curious about the products or services, the marketing tools should be preceded by a series of careful observations about the potential buyers. For example, the promotional clip of a new Netflix series called Cigarette Girl has attracted huge engagement on the internet because it contains slang used frequently by Indonesian youngsters. By observing the online habits of the targeted demography, Netflix Indonesia has created an engaging advertisement to persuade the population to subscribe to the streaming app. Thus, a carefully crafted and deeply researched promotional tool will lead to more curious audiences actually purchasing the product. On the other hand, I personally think that effective and massive advertisements by various kinds of enterprises will trigger people to buy things in an impulsive manner. For instance, many beauty products like skincare and cosmetics particularly for women are using South Korean artists as their ambassadors, where these idols are known for their loyal fandoms across the globe, including in Indonesia. Although the promoted products do not always match their needs, there are a considerable amount of individuals who buy a product merely to prove their loyalty towards said artists, while some others are expecting to be as good-looking as their idols by using the marketed items. Therefore, such ways of marketing will impact the rising of the population's unhealthy consumption habits. To conclude, there can be no doubt that advertising tools are prominent to the success of many businesses. Subsequently, a series of careful observations is the critical point of effecting an advertisement. However, on the contrary, I surmise that too many promotions will bring society to negative development which is excessive and careless consumption.