How does Fitzpatrick demonstrate that a poem is a site of confrontations?

Jameson Fitzpatrick demonstrates that a poem is a site of confrontations by using repetition, anaphora, and contrast in the poem “I Woke Up,” to examine how everyday aspects of their life, especially race, gender, and sexual identity, are influenced by politics and encourage the audience to think about the political influences in their lives. One of the confrontations Fitzpatrick discussed is gender as seen in lines 14-15 “I was blond, and it was political. So was the difference between “blond” and “blonde.”” The clause "it was political" is repeated eight times throughout the poem. “blond” and blonde” are words that share the same pronunciation and meaning referring to a person with golden hair using the French distinction of male and female. The poet cleverly uses anaphora and these words to show that diction can have political power. in this instance, that being a male has different implications from being a female even with the same hair color. This prompts the reader to consider how gender issues still persist in modern society. Another confrontation the poet faces is racial identity as seen in lines 17-19 “That I didn’t know how to grieve when another person was killed in America was political, and it was political when America killed another person, who they were and what color and gender and who I am in relation.” The connection to politics is explicit here since the poet goes beyond gender to also talk about race. From the previous case of blonds, we can assume that the poet is a white American. He is criticizing how the American government has failed to save a person’s life because of the values attached to that person’s race and gender. When there is news of someone getting killed, it makes the poet not only reflect on his position in the society but also unsure or unable how to react to such news in an appropriate manner. This is particularly relevant to the Black Lives Matter movement where people protested over unjust killings of innocent black people in America. It can also be extended to the situation in other countries with sociopolitical issues. Therefore, we can see how much meaning and contrast the poet juxtaposes in one sentence that runs over 3 lines in the poem. Later, sexual identity is confronted by others and the poet in lines 26-27 “Someone called me faggot and it was political. I called myself a faggot and it was political.” The word “faggot” is a slur for gay men. Internet results show that in American English, it was often used by men to assert their masculinity and insult others who they thought were less masculine than them. Although gay men have recently made efforts to reclaim the term, many people can still find it offensive. When the poet called themselves a faggot, we can see that the poet could be trying to reclaim the term for themselves and the gay community as an act of defiance. Based on these examples, Fitzpatrick portrays the complexity of his identity in relation to politics using repetition, anaphora, and contrast.